David Sanborn and Bob James bring Quartette Humaine to Fraze

Posted on 2013-05-23.


Join Fraze this summer where you will be able to witness David Sanborn and Bob James as they come together on stage to bring to life their second collaborative album, Quartette Humaine. This is the first collaboration between James and Sanborn since their 1986 Platinum-Selling Grammy Award winning album, Double Vision.

Though the duo has collaborated on many other projects, they have never toured together and have only ever met on stage on one other occasion. In a recent article with eJazz News, James recalled that, “The exception was a midnight jam session at the Tokyo Jazz Festival a few years ago. We played just a couple of tunes, but it engendered the feeling that a reunion was way overdue.”

So the duo got to work and created the resulting Quartette Humaine. The album features four new compositions by James, three by Sanborn and two James-arranged covers (“My Old Flame,” “Geste Humain”). Drummer Steve Gadd and bassist James Genus join James and Sanborn on the album.

Going into the studio, the duo knew they didn’t want to recreate Double Vision, but rather capture how they’ve grown as artists and musicians. Though many artists struggle not to play the same hits over and over again, James and Sanborn challenge their audience to expect the unexpected – to keep their ears open for new sounds. This attitude is sure to be reflected in their live performance this summer.

As individual artists, James and Sanborn bring decades of experience and experimentation to the table. Sanborn has released 24 albums – one Platinum and eight Gold. Over his career, he has earned six Grammy Awards and continues to tour and make music. James has had a wildly successful solo career and swept the jazz world as a member of the renowned quartette, Fourplay. Numerous contemporary hip-hop and R&B artists have sampled his songs over the years.

As the second stop on their summer tour, David Sanborn and Bob James will bring their new sound to Fraze Pavilion on June 8th.

Check out this cool video on the making of Quartette Humaine:

Then get ready for an incredible night of jazz, as this gifted quartette explores the depth of their music.

Quartette Humaine – Tracklisting:
1. You Better Not Go to College (Bob James)
2. Geste Humain (Alice Soyer)
3. Sofia (David Sanborn)
4. Follow Me (Bob James)
5. My Old Flame (Arthur Johnston, Sam Coslow)
6. Another Time, Another Place (David Sanborn)
7. Montezuma (Bob James)
8. Genevieve (David Sanborn)
9. Deep in the Weeds (Bob James)