k.d. lang Sings It LOUD and Fraze Fans Can Download a FREE Song!

Posted on 2011-05-23.

k.d. lang is coming to Fraze this summer in support of her new album, Sing It Loud. The album, which was released in April, features 9 original tracks and a cover of the Talking Heads’ “Heaven.” Fraze fans can download the “Sugar Buzz” track from the link below. It is lang’s first album since 2008’s Watershed and is being released on the same label, Nonesuch. Produced by lang and Joe Pisapia, Sing it Loud is lang’s first album made entirely with a band (Siss Boom Bang) of her own since the pair of albums with the Reclines that launched her career over 20 years ago.

The album was produced at the Pisapia’s Middletree Studios in Nashville and reflects the organic, collaborative nature of the sessions. Many of the songs were recorded live in the studio and that energy is physical. The lead single, “I Confess” is soft at first, but then declares itself with booming drums and guitar. According to Jim Farber of NY Daily News in regards to lang’s vocal performance on the album, “The way she swoops into a phrase, conjuring a crane in flight, shows both grace and intensity. Gigantic notes ring out in even the most subtle songs, and the beauty of her tone means it never feels like a drone.”

The legendary Tony Bennett even declared, “She’s the best singer of her generation.” Bennett has frequently toured with lang since their 2002 Wonderful World duets album and is an authority on her talent. She is renowned for her live shows, and as the New York Times’ Stephen Holden once observed, “Few singers command such perfection of pitch. Her voice, at once beautiful and unadorned and softened with a veil of smoke, invariably hits the middle of a note and remains there.”

This is one live show you don’t want to miss. Catch k.d. lang on Wednesday, June 29th at 8:00 PM. Come see this Grammy award winning artist as she sings it LOUD at Fraze this summer!

The track listing for Sing it Loud is as follows:

1. I Confess
2. A Sleep with No Dreaming
3. The Water’s Edge
4. Perfect Word
5. Sugar Buzz (FREE song download)
6. Sing it Loud
7. Inglewood
8. Habit of Mind
9. Heaven
10. Sorrow Nevermore